Stax Classics
The Staple Singers

Celebrating one of the biggest names in soul, gospel and folk, and a respected voice in the civil rights movement: The Staple Singers. Their time at Stax brought the legendary family band to a new level of stardom, with hits "Respect Yourself" and "I'll Take You There," both included in this album, among many other favorites. This timely compilation comes on the heels of Mavis Staples’ 2016 Kennedy Center Honors, as well as the documentary, Mavis! This collection highlights the music of The Staple Singers, who, when they joined the label, were already one of the biggest names in the gospel and folk world, and a respected voice in the civil rights movement. Their time at Stax brought the family band – consisting of Roebuck “Pops” Staples and his daughters Mavis, Yvonne and Cleotha –to another level of stardom, with their breakout title, Be Altitude: Respect Yourself. Title track "Respect Yourself," reached the Number Two position on Billboard's Soul/R&B chart, while "I'll Take You There," with its infectious beat, hit Number One on the Billboard Hot 100. This album features these two hits, plus such favorites as “Heavy Makes You Happy (Sha-Na-Boom-Boom)”, “The Weight” (which they performed with The Band for The Last Waltz) and civil rights anthem “Long Walk to D.C.”

Click here to buy now


  1. I’ll Take You There
  2. Respect Yourself
  3. If You’re Ready (Come Go With Me)
  4. Long Walk to D.C.
  5. Heavy Makes You Happy (Sha-Na-Boom-Boom)
  6. The Weight
  7. We’ll Get Over
  8. Touch a Hand (Make a Friend)
  9. City In the Sky
  10. This World
  11. Be What You Are
  12. Oh La De Da