Stax Classics
Booker T. & The MGs

Known as the house band, and bedrock of Stax Records, Booker T. & the MGs were a musical powerhouse in their own right. Along with providing the musical backdrop for everyone on the label, from Otis Redding and Eddie Floyd to Sam & Dave, and providing a ground-breaking example of racial integration in the segregated South, the four-piece would score a series of chart hits with their unique soulful instrumentals, “Hip Hug-Her,” Time Is Tight,” “Soul Limbo” and “Boot-Leg,” all included on this collection. And it goes without saying, this album would not be complete without Booker T. & The MGs signature tune, the funky little single B-side, that later became a #1 R&B hit in its own right, “Green Onions.”

Click here to buy now


  1. Green Onions
  2. Hip-Hug-Her
  3. Jellybread
  4. Time Is Tight
  5. Tic-Tac-Toe
  6. Boot-Leg
  7. Mo' Onions
  8. Soul Dressing
  9. Groovin'
  10. Melting Pot
  11. Soul Limbo
  12. One Mint Julep